» International Police Association’s World Police Prize

International Police Association’s World Police Prize

IPA Sweden is honored to confirm one of the receivers of the IPA World Police Prize.
The International Executive Board of International Police Association awarded Ms. Maria Appelblom the IPA World Police Prize 2016.

The IPA World Police Prize has since the foundation been presented six times;

1994 Interpol
1995 The Founder of the IPA, Arthur Troop
1998 IBZ Gimborn
2000 The United Nations Office of Drug Control and Crime Prevention
2003 Concerns of Police Survivors (COPS)
2006 Dr. Francisco Vicente Badenes (Brazil)
2011 Ahuva Tomer, Lior Boker and Yitzchak Melina (Israel)

Ms Appelblom is an IPA member of the Swedish Section of IPA since 1996 and former member of the Regional IPA Board of Region 6, Sweden. Ms. Appelblom is at present the Chief of the UN Standing Capacity.
She was nominated by the Swedish Section for her unselfish work for human rights, equal quality and opportunities as for her dedication in making the world a better place. Ms. Appelblom is one of the founders of “Woman to Woman” (Kvinna till Kvinna). This NGO support women in war zones with supplies of female needs. She participated active in the formation of the Nordic Baltic Woman Police Association where she is still active. Her never ending voluntary work for other human beings over the years and in many countries around the world and her dedication in her daily work mirror Ms. Appelblom’s genuine concern for fellow humans and her believe in making a change makes her a worthy winner of the IPA World Police Prize.

The prize was share with a Greek IPA Region where IPA members unstirred and unselfish has been supporting arriving refugees past year.

The IPA World Prize on Ms. Appelblom was presented at the Award Winner’s Evening in Auckland, New Zealand and was carried home to Sweden by the Swedish Section. Ms. Maria Appelblom was not able to participate due to other commitments on international level.

On behalf of the Swedish Section of IPA cordial congratulations is forwarded to Ms. Maria Appelblom.

May-Britt Rinaldo
IPA Sweden